Monday, January 25, 2016

NBI Clearance 101

I've been dreading the day that I have to secure my NBI Clearance again. My previous experiences (I  had to get mine twice already before) with it have been THE WORST. Talk about long lines, lots of people, more long lines, more people, well you get the drift ok?!

Anyway before I digress, in this post I'd like to share to you my experience last week when I applied for my NBI Clearance. Last week's experience in securing my clearance was waaaay better than the last time.

So here goes.. 

In securing your NBI Clearance, first thing you need to consider is location. Aside from the Main Office in Manila, there are several NBI Clearance centers where you can get it. In my case, I decided to get my clearance at Robinson's Mall Galleria. You can see it here --> http://www.nbiclearance.com/where-to-apply-nbi-clearance-location-complete-list-of-nbi-clearance-outlets-in-the-philippines/

Next, you have to register online, fill out an application and pay. For more detailed information, you can click on this link --> http://www.nbiclearance.com/how-to-apply-nbi-clearance-online/

In my case, after I have registered and filled out the application form, I used BDO online banking to pay for my clearance although there's an additional charge of 20-25 pesos as processing/web fee i guess? But for those who cannot avail of the payment options given in the website, you can opt to just pay at the NBI Clearance centre. 

Also, you get to choose the date when you want to be scheduled for NBI Clearance processing. Don't worry because they have so many slots each day that there's no doubt you can be accommodated in the schedule of your choice. Just choose if you want the AM or PM schedule. I think once you're done registering, they will give you a set time on your chosen day. You don't have to follow the indicated time though because once you get in the centre, they just give out numbers to whoever's there. 

Oh, and before I forget, personal appearance is required for securing your NBI Clearance because you they have to take your fingerprints and your picture. You also need to bring 2 valid ID's as required (though they only checked 1 id in my case)

That boys and girls is just the pre-NBI clearance game. All the things you have to do and prepare for before the dreaded day of lining up for your NBI Clearance.

Okay, the last time I got my NBI Clearance was in 2014 and I had to go back to Robinson's Galleria TWICE because i cannot handle the long lines.  During my first try, I went there in the afternoon and the lines were just crazy. As in!! How I wished there was someone I could pay to line up for me and process the entire damn thing but nope, I had to suffer all through it. I had to line up just to PAY during the first day then go back the following day super early (mall opening) just to have my fingerprints and picture taken. Imagine the hassle. 

So this time, I vowed not to go through the same hell experience as before or at least psyched myself that I had to really endure the long hours of standing and waiting. 

On our scheduled day (I was with a friend and I totes advice you to bring along someone so you won't get bored or at least he/she can save the line for you or whatever), we arrived in Galleria around 10 minutes before 10:00 a.m. or before the mall opens. Take note that I was already panicking by this time because a read a blog that said he was there around 6am just to be among the first ones in line to get a NUMBER!!

We parked our car and entered through the basement parking (sorry, the only landmark I know is that we entered the door where the Mr. Quickie outlet is located). When we got through the NBI Clearance centre, I thought we made it in time with NO LINES AT ALL. But of course, I was wrong. We were given numbers for the queue instead. Guess what are numbers were? Number 147 & 148. what the f*ck right? the mall hasn't even opened yet! 

It turns out that people have been lining up super early just to get a number near the entrance where Ministop is (Again, i do not know where this entrance was). Based on the blog I've read that morning, people line up as early as 6-7 am just to be the first ones to get a number and get in line.

No need to worry though because they call out the numbers by 50's. There are chairs provided anyway, so just sit and wait for your number to be called. We were part of the 3rd batch to line up and this is the worst part (or maybe not so much), standing in line. Although I have to commend the people working in that NBI Clearance centre, they were so efficient that you would not stand that long. 

At this point, they divide the people into 2 groups. Those who have already paid (this is usually the longer line) and those that have not. I'm not really sure which is better since I did not pay attention whether those in the "have not paid" line get to have their fingerprints and picture taken right after paying without need for lining up again. 

So after they've taken your fingerprints, signature and picture, they'll let you know whether you have HITS or not. If you do have hits, they they just stamp a date on the back of your receipt as to when you can claim you clearance. If you're lucky, you get to claim your clearance right away.

In my case I have hits (duh my name is so common) so I have to return after 2 weeks for my clearance. I tried asking if the release date could be earlier but sadly, no. Also, if you don't have time to claim your clearance on the release date, you can just authorize someone to get it for you (basic authorisation letter and a copy of your ID will suffice).

All in all, we only spent 2 hours for the whole NBI thing which is so much better than my 2 day experience from before.

When you think about it, it's a good thing we didn't arrive super early like 6-7 am just to line up and get a number.

Here are my tips for you to have a slightly hassle free NBI Clearance experience:
1. Prepare everything before you go to the clearance centre. Your receipt, REFERENCE NUMBER (will be shown on your application form), 2 valid ids, money if you still have to pay

2. Bring snacks and drinks with you. You'll need this especially if you've been in line for a long time and can't get out of it otherwise you risk losing your spot

3. Bring your fan/pamaypay. Even if you're getting your clearance from the mall, you might still feel warm because of all the people around you

4. Bring a book/newspaper/magazine/ipod/ipad/ etc to keep you entertained while waiting for your turn. Don't forget to bring a power bank as well for your phone in case you end up draining your battery playing candy crush or browsing through Facebook

5. If you can, ask someone to accompany you. Not only will you have someone you can talk to, but he/she will be very helpful when you need to go to the restroom or whatever and save your seat or spot in the line for you. If this isn't possible, then just befriend whoever's the one beside, infront or behind you in line. That way, if you really need to go to the restroom or get something, then you wouldn't have to go all the way to the end of the line again.

So that's about everything. Good luck! :)




It's good to be back!!

OMG!!! I can't believe it has been years since my last post and I can't help but laugh and cringe at the same time reading through my old posts haha

Anyway, it's good to be back! I thought of creating a new blog page but thought sayang naan my old posts. So here I am, rekindling my love for writing though I'm sure no one's gonna read through this.

But what the hell. I decided to blog again because I want to be of help to other people researching for anything and everything under the sun.

Honestly, when google does not give me the answers I am looking for, I know that I can always count on other people's experinces and tips through their blog posts. I find blog posts a really useful research tool  for just about anything. Be it in travel, events, fashion, and the simple joys of everyday life. I love reading about other people's experiences through their blogs because it prepares me on what to expect and how to go about things..

So there, after years of neglecting this page, I am finally back. It also helps that I need writing as a distraction now. =)

Hope you guys have fun!

(As if there will be people reading this, I wish!) =)

Love, Anj

Tuesday, October 4, 2011

Upper East

It was supposed to be Day 1 of our serious diet when my boyfriend asked me out for lunch. We were thinking of places near school with decent, home cooked meals. Fast food is a big no-no since we were both on a "diet". I even went to the gym that morning! haha Anyway, we decided to try out this place - Upper East.

 It turns out that Upper East  is the teaching restaurant of the American Hospitality Academy (AHA) which to our surprise such institution exists (Sorry, we're both law students and you can just imagine how limited our world is =)) Upon entering the restaurant, I was in awe of how beautiful the place was. I'm not super familiar with rating restaurants but man, the ambiance was to die for! The place was sooo pretty and quaint that you would think you were in a showroom of some sort. I must say, the place was perfect for a having a baby shower! (Sorry, first event that came to my mind haha)

See their food in pictures!

Menu (I love how they describe the food that you'll know what to expect from what you'll be ordering)


YUM! Meal prices range from 130 - 400. A bit pricey though for students like us.


Wall decor- i love the concept of hanging frames
panira to the concept the round silver clock

table set up

too small though for their plates 

i love this sort of chandelier/hanging light or whatever

with 2nd floor

free muffins - after we finished the first one, they gave us another one while waiting for our food to be served. we were so tempted to ask if these were unlimited haha jologs lang!

 I had their lunch special which was composed of mushroom soup, pork schnitzel and eclair - Php199.00

mushroom soup - I'm a big fan of mushrooms and i liked their soup since its not your ordinary campbell's soup in a can. 

pork schnitzel- comes with rice and ceasar salad
I really didn't know what pork schnitzel was when i ordered the lunch special. Turns our it's just like cordon bleu minus the cheese haha! fancy name! their ceasar salad was good btw! My boyfriend ordered their pot roast - comes with mashed potatoes and ceasar salad. The beef was a bit hard to chew/slice though=(

I super love the plate they used for serving our meal. It was long though so it seemed like our table was really crowded


Eclair - I was disappointed though on how they served their dessert. Everything was so fancy that I didn't expect my dessert to be served this plain

Our overall rating (10 being the highest):

Food: 7 out of 10 -- we think the pot roast needed more boiling to be easier to chew. Presentation was ok, except for the manner they served the eclair

Ambience - 10 out of 10 -- If only I had girlfriends with me and a decent camera, I'm sure to have taken lots of pictures. Everything was so pretty!

Service -  9 out of 10 -- they were just students but they were attentive to out needs, A bit awkward though knowing we're making utos to people younger than us haha

Price: 6 out of 10 -- too pricey for our budget and their servings are not that big for sharing

Upper East is located at 116 Tordesillas St, Makati City- Philippine International Trading Corporation

Friday, September 30, 2011

Hello corndog!

Oh hello there, come to momma!




I felt guilty for not trying out the corndogs in Il Mercanti, so when we had the chance to go back, the first stop I made was to the corndog stand! How i wish they would sell corndogs in basketball games, concerts, cinemas, etc! But being my boring self and with my sort of disgust for mayo and mustard, i ate it with ketchup only haha oh well!

Btw, on the way to Metrowalk, my boyfriend and I almost had a fight because 3 drunk korean teenagers walking right in the middle of the street!! I have nothing against koreans just so we're clear but hey, they're pretty much drunk and were FREAKIN'WALKING IN THE MIDDLE OF THE STREET! I had to admit I got a bit scared when I saw 1 of them holding a beer bottle (I kept honking the horn at them during this time) and with my praning self and wild imagination i had to stop making them get off the street! what is duwag much?! haha

Saturday, September 24, 2011

For frustrated singers like me

 I've been channel surfing and saw The Voice on AXN. Now I can't tear myself away from the television! Great timing since I saw Dia's performance of Heartless! I love love loooooooove her voice!


Then i saw Team Christina's lady marmalade performance! I was a big christina aguilera fan back then (Sorry britney!) 


Then I remember seeing this group singing on Ellen - Sidewinder (US aarmy soldiers) singing Adele's rolling in the deep! It made me teary-eyed hearing them sing haha (sorry I'm mababaw and iyakin like that!) =)


Oh wow, I think I've had around 5 voice lessons and my voice is nowhere like theirs!! Guess i'll keep my singing within the confines of my room and bathroom! =P

Apps I'm loving now!

Sorry for the blog flood teehee. Living in a condo sucks since I don't have internet connection there and my broadband stick is useless! Couldn't find a decent spot with a signal. Remind me again why I'm using that particular brand?? Oh yeah, because I broke my very first one and since I didn't want to spend for a new one i just took whatever's available at home. KILL ME NOW! So now i'm blog flooding -  since i'm home for the weekend and we have superb internet connection!! haha

Here's what's driving me crazy - my newly found ipad app Monster Pet Shop!!! 

App also available for iphones. You can download this free from the app store!!
 I've been playing it for a week and I am so hooooooked to it!! Who wouldn't be once you see those uber cute pet monsters!!! 

See how cute monster pets are!!

In this game you get to run your own monster pet store - customers will give you their requests; raise, feed, play with and clean your pet's habitat and adopt out your pets! You'll have to check on your pet every now and then and that's what makes it sooo addicting!! Bad news though - for those with devices "jailbroken" this app is not yet available. =(

If you decide on having this app, I suggest you join this facebook page Monster Pet Shop guide which gives you super helpful tips!! Hope you like it!!

Another app I'm loving now is BOP IT!  

Party pleaser for you and your friends!
I found myself screaming with my friend since we just couldn't get it!! haha! Be sure to try the demo first to know what to do! =)

Last app is New York Zombies (NYZ)
I'm a sucker for zombie games and I just couldn't resist the thought of fighting off zombies and feeling like I'm in the series walking dead!!
Finished storymode already!!

Took me 4-5 days finishing story mode!! Once I get hooked, I won't stop til i finish the game. See how geeky i am?? haha You must be thinking " I thought she's a law student? Isn't she supposed to be studying??" Well I am a law student but we need a break too you know!! haha

Good thing about this app is that you don't have to control it so you can move, all you need to do is look right and left to kill them zombies!! haha

You'll feel like you're really killing 'em all! haha
Go get these apps now!! and I'd love to hear what apps you're crazy about too! =)

il mercanti food bazaar - Metrowalk

It sucks to have a schedule like mine. My classes usually start around 5pm, ends at 9:30pm! PM guys!! but hey, i got used to this schedule. It means more study/preparation time during the day for those terror profs :s Anyway, what really sucks about my class schedule is that most restaurants are already closed by the time i leave school. bummer right? and by the time i leave school I am so famished that it makes me irritable!! sorry but you wouldn't want to be near me when hunger strikes!! haha add to that the traffic and those crazy bus drivers along edsa on the way home. So by the time I arrive home, what's left of my food choices are fast food establishments. :s Yes, fast food's great but not for everyday meals!!!

One super hungry night, we dropped by metrowalk to look for a decent meal when we saw their parking lot converted into this food bazaar!! You wouldn't believe how ecstatic I was just seeing it! It not only means I can get dinner for a very affordable price but also that I have a looooooot of choices!! I've been to several food bazaars and there are stalls that sell almost the same kind of stuff. Hurriedly, I went around and looked for that unique meal that hasn't been offered in the food bazaars I've been to. Look what I found:

Pares by Pares ni Mang Juan (70php) I definitely recommend  this, great value for super yummy food.

The pares meal I had was delightful and not just because I was hungry but it was really good! One thing I don't like about food bazaars like this is that the food they serve are most often cold already. But for this meal, I saw them reheat my food in the stove! Plus points for hot meal! But before I could totally dig in to my meal, I had to pick out the star annis from my meal.   See below what annis looks like haha


Star annis

I had squid balls too but it was a little pricey for 20php. But hey, I was craving for it!


What you'll love about Il Mercanti is that there's a huge eating area for its customers!! And you won't worry about finding a clean table since they have hired help to clean up after a customer dines.


Of course, the night wouldn't be complete without dessert. So we looked around (again) and look what we found!

Dulcinea @ il Mercanti

their cream puffs are a must!


We left Metrowalk with super satisfied and food filled faces. We'll definitely be back!!
Go visit Il Mercanti Food Bazar at Metrowalk.
Schedule: Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, 8pm - 6am